Want to Feel Better? Write and Share some Poetry!

I keep a journal of my daily life.  It contains photographs that are important to me, pictures that I have drawn on the sides, what happened in my day, but most of all, it contains poetry.  My poetry is very personal to me.  It holds my thoughts and feelings as if they were stuck in concrete.  Writing these poems gives me relief of all the things going on within my head.

I have been thinking about my poetry a lot lately (because I have been writing a lot if it) and wondering how many people use writing, specifically poetry, as an emotional release as I do.

Today I read an article that explained that many people use writing poetry as I do and that even more emotional release is given when poetry is shared among people.

According to Michael Hickey poetry is used for,

“Self-expression, exploration and self-discovery… [that] finding the words to articulate a traumatic experience can bring relief [and that] there is great release and enjoyment in sharing with others, who identify through the personality and universality of poetry.”

Hickey believes that people can get over difficulties within their lives by writing poetry that is deeply personal to them.  However, what is interesting about Hickey’s views is that he takes it one step further by saying that when poetry is shared with others its potential to help heal a person is augmented.

I brought up the idea of “personal journals” in an earlier blog entry.  I still think this idea is one that can greatly benefit students.  After reading this article I have modified my idea a little.  I think it would be really neat to have students write personal poetry and then share it with others.  They could share with the entire class, in groups, or even with just one other person.

For students that deal with issues of depression this could be very beneficial for them.  It would give them time to

feed off their own problems and difficulties, perhaps even focus on them.”

This helps them understand events in their lives and the emotions that they are dealing with.  Then sharing their work with fellow students is beneficial in two ways:

1. The student dealing with depression can explain himself/herself to others who may not understand depression.  Thereby educating someone on the hardships of depression.

2.  The student may find that they are not the only one dealing with depression.  There will most likely be others that feel the same as they do and they will come to

“feel [them]selves as not alone in the world, but as part of and integrated with all that exists around [them], self-esteem can then grow through poetry as [their] innermost being embraces the mystery of life. Deep is calling to deep.”

I think the idea of using poetry as therapy could easily be used within the classroom giving students a chance to explore ideas within their lives and share them with others. 

Michael Hickey.”Poetry as Thearapy.” Naples Sun Times. February 21, 2007.

4 Comments

  1. Kristie said,

    February 24, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Hi Marie, I have often said that I should keep a journal but as of yet, I haven’t. My mom always has, and every once in a while she’ll go back and read something she wrote years ago. She is able to look at things from an entirely different perspective later on. The other day my oldest daughter (almost 16), came home from school just bawling because the boy she likes, said he doesn’t “like her like a girlfriend anymore” and just want to be friends. She was heartbroken. He is her first boyfriend. As a mom, I felt helpless. When your kids are little you can protect them from heartache for the most part. I guess I realized I can’t do that anymore. I sat with her, listened, and even cried with her. This happened Wednesday, and Thursday in class, I thought I really should try to write a poem about how I felt. I can see that I would be good therapy if I would just take the time to do it. I’ve never been one who writes just for the heck of it…..maybe I should give it a try! Great post! Kristie

  2. boundtoreact said,

    February 25, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I think that keeping a diary or journaling is a great way to not only become a better writer, but to learn a lot about yourself. Sometimes writing whatever comes to mind can even surprise the person writing it, and it has always worked as good therapy for me. Sharing this type of personal writing does sound like something that can be extremely beneficiary to a student, allowing them the chance to better relate to their peers and form an overall better community in the classroom, although I am not sure how easy of a thing it is for a teacher to get students to share. I know that I would be very reluctant to talk about something personal I had written in a large group, and that a really comfortable environment would have to be established early by a teacher for me to do so. Poetry was always such a drag in high school, and I love reading about ways it can be used in the classroom that would make it more interesting and effective – great post.


Leave a comment